Queensdale Place, Holland Park, London, W11
A cobbled mews which runs from Gloucester Road to Queen’s Gate Terrace. It consists of 2 sections, one going from west to east and the other from north to south.
The houses come in many different styles including some post-war buildings. London’s first petrol pump was located on the corner directly opposite the Queen’s Arms pub . The famous Coys of Kensington was at the entrance of the mews, showcasing some of the most amazing vintage cars to be seen in London. Sadly both the petrol pump and Coys have gone but the pub remains.
The mews is thought to have originated in about 1858.
BOROUGH: Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea
PAST FAMOUS OCCUPANTSSir Jacob Epstein (Sculptor) English Heritage Blue Plaque
Terry Thomas (Comedy Actor) Comedy Heritage Blue Plaque
FIRST PETROL PUMPIn 1913, London’s first ever petrol pump was placed in Queen’s gate mews SW7. Although the original pump disappeared long ago, there were petrol pumps on the site until as recently as 1998.
This could be seen as rather unsurprising considering the fact that motor car houses were being built as early as 1898 in Queens Gate Mews.
QUEEN”S GATE MEWS FILMSPOTTINGLayer Cake (2004): The home of Daniel Craig’s unnamed character